Friday 11 September 2015 - 19:30 to Sunday 27 September 2015 - 21:00

Tim Bowler, Owen Sheers, Sadie Jones, Jessie Burton, Jay Griffiths and Harland Miller are among the British participants invited to this year’s festival.

In celebration of the tenth anniversary of the Hay Festival Segovia and its collaboration with the British Council in Spain, festival audiences will have the opportunity to listen to Tim Bowler, whose novels for young people have been translated into some 30 languages and sold more than a million copies, as well as the novelist, screenplay writer, playwright, and poet Owen Sheers who will also be in attendance. Sheers has won several major prizes, and his novel “Resistance” was adapted for cinema in 2011. Ilze Barobs and Alison Smith of British Council Segovia will be running workshops to explore the work of these two writers. 

The British Council is also proud to welcome to Segovia for the first time writers Sadie Jones, Jessie Burton, and Jay Griffiths. Sadie Jones is a Costa First Novel Award winner, as well as being a runner up in the Orange Prize and Los Angeles Times Book Prize Art Seidenbaum Award for her first novel “The Outcast”. Jessie Burton is author of “The Miniaturist” which has sold more than half a million copies in the United Kingdom alone. Jay Griffiths is author of “Pip Pip, Wild”, and “A Love Letter From a Stray Moon”, among others.

The British Council is also glad to provide the Spanish public with the opportunity to discover Harland Miller, one of the United Kingdom’s leading artists. Aside from talking to Graham Sheffield, the British Council’s Arts Director, and the filmmaker and former Spanish culture minister Ángeles González-Sinde, Miller’s exhibition “The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters” will be on display at the Palacio Quintanar.

This year’s festival will provide an opportunity to showcase the best of Britain’s emerging film talent and will be showing the BAFTA 2015 short film finalists at the Cárcel-Filmoteca of Segovia.

Other British participants in this year’s festival include the politician Nick Clegg, Graham Sheffield, Director of Arts at the British Council, the philosopher Anthony Clifford Grayling and the journalists John Hooper and Giles Tremlett, among others.