Aptis ESOL General

Aptis ESOL General is a four-skills general English proficiency exam which assesses language proficiency from A1 to B2 on the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR). If you demonstrate a level superior to a B2 you will be awarded a C level.

You take Aptis ESOL General on a computer in British Council supervised face-to-face test sessions.

Aptis ESOL General allows you to evaluate all four language skills; speaking listening, reading, and writing and test your grammar and vocabulary knowledge.

Aptis ESOL General format

Grammar and Vocabulary 25  0-50 50*
Speaking 12  MCER: A1-C / 0-50
Writing 50  MCER: A1-C / 0-50
Listening 40  MCER: A1-C / 0-50 17 
Reading 35  MCER: A1-C / 0-50

*50 questions (25+25)

Find out more about how to prepare for Aptis ESOL.